sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
News Items- 05/2008  Next Month / Last Month
If you wish your news item to appear in our column, send your announcement to news (at)

With a few exceptions, news items and announcements will be posted if they are sent to us.
With fewer exceptions, announcements not sent to us ... don't.

Robert Asprin (1946-2008) by ( 23 May 2008 / ) - On May 22, 2008, Bob passed away quietly in his home in New Orleans, LA. He had been in good spirits and working on several new projects, and was set to be the Guest of Honor at a major science fiction convention that very weekend. He is survived by his mother, his sister, his daughter and his son, and his cat, Princess, not to mention countless friends and fans and numerous legendary fictional characters.

He will be greatly missed. (Source: )

Baen Books in Space! by (Baen Publishing 22 May 2008 / ) - SF Publisher to Provide Free "Webscriptions" E-books to International Space Station

I.S.S. Already Has Extensive Baen Titles on Hand, According to NASA WAKE FOREST, NORTH CAROLINA – May 15, 2008—Science fiction publisher Baen Books will make its entire "Webscriptions" offering of e-books free to the astronauts living aboard the International Space Station, says Baen Books Publisher, Toni Weisskopf. A recent Freedom of Information request revealed that the space station already has a large number of Baen titles available per previous crewmember requests.

"We were pleased and surprised to find that almost 25 percent of the titles on that list were Baen books," Weisskopf said. "The I.S.S. library is heavy on the Lois McMaster Bujold, David Weber and John Ringo–three of our most popular authors."

Baen maintains over 600 of its books as downloadable e-books in a variety of unencrypted e-book formats available at Weisskopf offered to make the complete Baen "Webscription" library available to I.S.S. personnel, free of charge, including both its on-line magazines, The Grantville Gazette and Jim Baen's Universe. NASA promptly accepted, and I.S.S. crewmembers will be able to access a world of science fiction immediately.

"It's very satisfying to know that I.S.S. crewmembers will be able to get our books easily and without fuss," Weisskopf says. "They're the ones who are truly creating a future for humankind in space." (Source: Baen Publishing)

David Walton Wins Second Annual Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Contest by (Baen Publishing 22 May 2008 / ) - Baen Books, Jim Baen's Universe Magazine and National Space Society Team Promote Space-Based Science Fiction

Winston-Salem, NC, May 22, 2008— David Walton, of Pennsylvania, won the second annual Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Contest with a story titled "Letting Go."

The Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Contest was designed to promote and reward forward thinking science fiction authors who write exciting and innovative stories about the near future of manned space exploration. Toni Weisskopf, publisher of Baen Books, said "I was also favorably impressed by the positive spirit toward space science and the future found in each story," she said. "Space development was one of Jim Baen's passions." (More...) (Source: Baen Publishing)

Mark L. Van Name -- 2008 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award winner by (Baltimore Science Fiction Society 22 May 2008 / ) - "The Baltimore Science Fiction Society is proud to announce that the 2008 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award winner is Mark L. Van Name for his novel One Jump Ahead published by Baen Books. The award plaque and check for $1000.00 will be presented during the Balticon 42 opening ceremony at 8pm on Friday, May 23, 2008.

The Compton Crook Award is presented to the best first novel of the year written by a single author: collaborations are not eligible: in the field of Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society, Inc.

The prize, named after a Towson State College Professor of Natural Science named Compton Crook, who wrote under the name Stephen Tall, and who died in 1981, was first awarded in 1983 for a work published in 1982.

The award is presented for the best book in the genre that was published in the year prior to the year of award and consists of a check for $1000.00 and Guest of Honor status for two years at Balticon. The first year of Guest of Honor status is the year the award is presented and the second year is to participate in the presentation of the following year's award.

A full listing of past Compton Crook Award winners can be found on the BSFS official website at Information about Balticon, the Maryland Regional Science Fiction Convention can be found at

--Dale S. Arnold, for BSFS Board of Directors." (Source: Baltimore Science Fiction Society)

Univ. of Toronto Professor adopts Tesseracts Eleven for SF Literature Class by (EDGE Science Fiction & Fantasy Publishing 09 May 2008 / ) - University of Toronto Professor Michael Johnstone has adopted Tesseracts Eleven for his Science Fiction literature course. This course will explore how works of science fiction respond to, participate in, and critique their times by speculating about the potential effects of science upon society. From alien invasions to cyberpunk to other worlds to dystopias, and much more, the novels and short stories we will study raise challenging and profound questions about the state of humanity — past, present, and future. (Source: EDGE Science Fiction & Fantasy Publishing)

Return to Index

© 2002-SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make Gumshoe possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

Our Other Pubs:

Do You SFRevu? Thousands of Intelligent Beings Do Every Month

Gumshoe Review - a literary investigation.

© 2002-SFRevu