sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
News Items- 07/2011  Next Month / Last Month
If you wish your news item to appear in our column, send your announcement to news (at)

With a few exceptions, news items and announcements will be posted if they are sent to us.
With fewer exceptions, announcements not sent to us ... don't.

Winners Announced for the Shirley Jackson Awards by ( 17 July 2011 / ) - In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson's writing, and with permission of the author's estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, SIngle-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 17th, 2011, at Readercon 22, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Victor LaValle, winner of the 2009 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel, acted as host. (more ...)

Martin H. Greenberg (March 1, 1941 June 25, 2011) by ( 01 July 2011 / ) - Greenberg died June 25th, 2011 after a long illness. He's known best for his many and varied anthologies. The Milwaukee - Wisconsin Journal Sentinel, his home town paper, has an obituary. (Source: )

Return to Index

© 2002-SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make Gumshoe possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

Our Other Pubs:

Do You SFRevu? Thousands of Intelligent Beings Do Every Month

Gumshoe Review - a literary investigation.

© 2002-SFRevu