sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
News Items- 12/2013  Next Month / Last Month
If you wish your news item to appear in our column, send your announcement to news (at)

With a few exceptions, news items and announcements will be posted if they are sent to us.
With fewer exceptions, announcements not sent to us ... don't.

'The Ocean at the End of the Lane' named 2013 Book of the Year by BBC News Article ( 27 December 2013 / ) -

(Photo: Gaiman is arguably best known for his series of comic books "The Sandman")

Neil Gaiman's "The Ocean at the End of the Lane" has been voted 2013's 'Book of the Year', winning the public vote 'by a considerable margin'.

Gaiman's fantasy novel beat fellow National Book Award winners including Kate Atkinson and David Walliams.

The tale about a man returning to his childhood home for a funeral won the public vote from a shortlist of this year's 10 National Book Award winners.

The graphic novelist said he was 'amazed and thrilled'.

2013 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award: Samuel R. Delany by Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America News Release (SFWA 04 December 2013 / ) -

SFWA has named Samuel R. Delany, Jr. (1942 ) as the 2013 DAMON KNIGHT MEMORIAL GRAND MASTER for his contributions to the literature of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Samuel R. Delany is the author of numerous books of science fiction, including "Nova", "Dhalgren", "Stars in My Pockets Like Grains of Sand", and most recently "Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders". Two of his classic works of science fiction criticism, "The Jewel-Hinged Jaw" and "Starboard Wine", have just been brought back into print by Wesleyan University Press, who will reissue a third, "The American Shore", in the summer of 2014.

After winning four Nebula awards and two Hugo awards over the course of his career, Delany was inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 2002. Since 2001 he has been a professor of English and Creative Writing at Temple University in Philadelphia, where for three years he was Director of the Graduate Creative Writing Program. In 2010 he won the third J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction from the academic Eaton Science Fiction Conference at UCR Libraries. He is also a recipient of the William Whitehead Memorial Award for a lifetime's contribution to lesbian and gay literature.

Return to Index

© 2002-SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make Gumshoe possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

Our Other Pubs:

Do You SFRevu? Thousands of Intelligent Beings Do Every Month

Gumshoe Review - a literary investigation.

© 2002-SFRevu