sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
UK Books Received- 03/2005  Next Month / Last Month
In order to provide timely reviews, we prefer to receive Advance Reader Copies of books when possible. Send books to Gayle Surrette c/o SFRevu, 16440 Baden Westwood Road Brandywine, MD 20613

authorsonline.co.uk

The Foresight War by Anthony, G Williams (authorsonline.co.uk 19 November, 2004 / £9.99) - What if - you went to sleep as usual in 2004 - and woke up in 1934? What if - you had vital knowledge about the forthcoming Second World War, and could prove that you came from the future?

An interesting debut time travel / alternative history novel from British writer Anthony G. Williams - and given that he's a military technology historian, it should be safe to assume that he knows his subject!

Bantam

Midnight Tides (Malazan Book of the Fallen) by Steven Erikson (Bantam 01 March, 2005 / £6.99) - The fifth book of this massively ambitious ten book series by Erikson is released in mass market paperback. The Malazan Book of the Fallen is setting the standard for the fantasies of the new millenium.
"This is true myth in the making, a drawing upon fantasy to recreate histories and legends as rich as any found within our culture." -- Interzone.

Bantam Press

Dragonsblood by Todd McCaffrey (Bantam Press 01 April, 2005 / £16.9) - A dynasty or a franchise? I'm sceptical when offspring attempt to emulate their famous parents - often the acting/writing/whatever gene simply isn't passed on down the line. That said, Todd McCaffrey has already penned a number of works with his mother Anne and is now bravely striking out on his own. Dragonsblood may be the first in what could become a multi-generational series. A hard cover release due here in the UK on April 7th.

Corgi Adult

Acorna's Triumph by Anne McCaffrey (Corgi Adult 01 March, 2005 / £6.99) - The seventh and (apparantly) final title in this hugely popular series by McCaffrey & Scarborough featuring their heroine Acorna, the Unicorn girl. This is the UK 1st edition, a paperback original.

Doubleday

A Thread of Grace by Mary Doria Russell (Doubleday 01 March, 2005 / £12.9) - A significant release- though not genre. The first novel in seven years from Mary Doria Russell, author of the extraordinary award winning novel The Sparrow and its sequel Children of God. Russell returns with an elegently written story telling of WW2 Jewish refugees and the Italians who help them escape Nazi persecution.

Gollancz

Woken Furies by Richard Morgan (Gollancz 17 March, 2005 / £10.9) - The best book of the year... so far! Richard Morgan returns to the world of his hard man protagonist, Takeshi Kovacs in this pumped-up SF thriller par excellence. (see review)

Orbit

Halo: First Strike by Eric S. Nylund (Orbit 01 February, 2005 / £6.99) - The third Halo novel, like the first one, is by Eric Nylund. With over 11 million Halo and Halo 2 games sold worldwide, even a fraction of such sale levels will be sure to satisfy the writer and his publisher.

Halo: The Fall of Reach by Eric S. Nylund (Orbit 01 February, 2005 / £6.99) - The first in a trio of novels released by Orbit this month inspired by the hugely successful Xbox game, Halo. This title, by Eric Nylund is the "official prequel" - I'm not one for gaming per se, mainly because of the potential reading time that it can eat up, but if it spawns cool, easily digestable novels, keeps highly respected writers in work and gets folks who spend most of their time staring at the goggle-box actually reading, well, than it can't be such a bad thing now, can it?

Halo: The Flood by William C. Dietz (Orbit 01 February, 2005 / £6.99) - The second Halo novel, this time written by William C. Diezt. "The Human-Covenant war, a desperate struggle for humankind's survival, has reached its boiling point on the mysterious, ring-shaped world called Halo. But the fierce Covenant warriors, the mightiest alien military force known, are not the only peril lying in wait". Sure makes me want to shoot at something!

Iron Sunrise by Charles Stross (Orbit 03 March, 2005 / £15.9) - Charles Stross, a British author being loudly hailed at the moment as the next big thing in science fiction finally has his second novel published in his own country - the US edition having been released back in July 04. He's quite a catch for Orbit and they are presenting his work in a very smart compact hard cover format. Described on the blurb as "A suspenseful future tail of intergalactic espionage and planetary destruction" this novel has had fantastic reviews across the board and is a very realistic contender for the Hugo award.

See our April 2005 Charles Stross Interview: (see review)

The Last Battle (Dragonmaster S.) by Chris Bunch (Orbit 03 March, 2005 / £6.99) - Excellent action-packed fantasy from the pen (or should one nowadays say 'keyboard') of Chris Bunch. This is the mass market edition of the third and final novel in his Dragonmaster trilogy.

"Slam bang excitement, lusty action and military magic ... fast paced and ferocious" -- Julian May.

The Risen Empire by Scott Westerfeld (Orbit 03 March, 2005 / £12.9) - A massive space adventure for fans of Iain M. Banks, Alastair Reynolds, and Peter F. Hamilton. Originally released in the US as two seperate volumes -which, judging from the comments on Amazon, rather irritated readers - Orbit issue this one as a real doorstop trade paperback. It's worth noting though that those same Amazon users rated Westerfield's work extremely highly. Huge in every way.

Pocket Books

First Rider's Call by Kristen Britain (Pocket Books 07 March, 2005 / £6.99) - Mass market paperback. "In this sequel to Kristen Britain's acclaimed first novel, Karigan G'ladhean has returned to her everyday life. Gone are the heady days and thrills and perils of being a protagonist in the great events of the day. But destiny has other plans of Karigan, and soon she will have to face even greater dangers..."

River of Gods by Ian McDonald (Pocket Books 04 April, 2005 / £7.99) - McDonald's River of God's is released in mass market. Acclaimed by critics and readers alike this novel, with it's near future high-tech India setting is on the shortlist for the 2004 Arthur C. Clarke award.

The Affinity Trap by Martin Sketchley (Pocket Books 07 March, 2005 / £6.99) - The debut novel by UK writer Martin Sketchley, released in mass market paperback. "...Sketchley has created a vivid widescreen setting in which the boundaries between good and evil, male and female, human and non-human are often indistinguishable depite the wishes and perceptions of the startling characters he has created." Visit Martin Sketchley's website for more on this novel.

The Lair of Bones by David Farland (Pocket Books 04 April, 2005 / £6.99) - The fourth volume in Farland's Runelords series, here released in mass market paperback. Sweeping and thrilling fantasy.

PS Publishing

My Death by Lisa Tuttle (PS Publishing 01 July, 2004 / £10.00) - Tuttle's novella about a writer working on a biography, who uncovers some uncomfortable facts about herself. A limited edition of 500 copies signed by Tuttle. A hard cover is also available, priced at %#163;25.00, signed both by Tuttle and Thomas Tessier who wrote the introduction. (see review)

Turns and Chances by Juliet McKenna (PS Publishing 01 August, 2004 / £10.0) - McKenna's extensive and beautifully worked Einarinn stories are enhanced by this new novella, Turns & Chances. A limited edition of 500 copies signed by McKenna. A hard cover is also available, priced at £25.00, signed both by Tuttle and Chaz Brenchley who wrote the introduction. Visit the author's website for further info. (see review)

Under the Penitence by Mary Gentle (PS Publishing 01 July, 2004 / £10.0) - A treat for the many fans of Gentle's ingenious and gigantic Ash: A Secret History, this brand new novella is set in the same world (though it stands alone). A limited edition of 500 copies signed by Gentle. A hard cover is also available, priced at £25.00, signed both by Tuttle and S.M. Stirling who wrote the introduction. (see review)

Tor Books

Banner of Souls by Liz Williams (Tor Books 18 February, 2005 / £12.9) - Williams' latest novel, Banner of Souls is released over here in trade paperback. It has already been seen in the US, garnering a nomination for the 2004 Philip K. Dick award. A "...sparkling and mind blowing space adventure..." This edition also includes a sample chapterof the author's forthcoming novel Darkland.Find out more at Liz Williams' web site.

Nine Layers of Sky by Liz Williams (Tor Books 18 February, 2005 / £7.99) - Liz Williams is riding high at the moment - a prolific and original writer, she is finally getting the recognition she deserves here in the UK. It's ironic that this home-grown talent has had most of here novels published in the US before they've reached the UK market, but now with the backing of Tor UK, William's profile is set to rise, and deservedly so. Nine Layers of Sky is issued in mass market paperback.

Pandora's Star by Peter F. Hamilton (Tor Books 04 March, 2005 / £8.99) - The mass market release of Hamilton's latest massive space opera - over 1100 pages! Highly acclaimed and really the best book PFH has written in a while. A second and concluding novel, Judas Unchained is due in the autumn.

The Etched City by K.J. Bishop (Tor Books 18 February, 2005 / £7.99) - K.J.Bishop's extraordinarily haunting and evocative debut novel, now released in mass market paperback. I found this one a sumptuous and disturbing read - a book that I won't forget in a long, long time (see my review here). This one scooped an impressive handful of awards and nominations - find out more about the author at kjbishop.net .

Voyager

Firethorn by Sarah Micklem (Voyager 04 April, 2005 / ) - Uncorrected proof. A debut novel by American writer Sarah Micklem and aimed at readers who enjoy the works of Robin Hobb and simlar authors. The first in a trilogy.

The sexiest fantasy book I ever read." -- Dame Kate Harcourt.

King of Foxes (Conclave of Shadows S.) by Raymond E. Feist (Voyager 07 February, 2005 / £6.99) - Feist's second novel in his Conclave of Shadows series is given its mass market paperback release. Reviewed back in our November 03 issue by Antony Wagman - see here .

Quicksilver Zenith (Quicksilver Trilogy S.) by Stan Nicholls (Voyager 07 March, 2005 / £6.99) - The sequel to Nicholls' Quicksilver Rising (reviewed most favourably by Iain Emsley back in our August 03 issue ) now released in mass market paperback.

Return to Index

With a few exceptions, books sent get listed, and possibly even commented on.
With fewer exceptions, books not sent don't.
Send books to: Gayle Surrette / UK Editor
SFRevu, 16440 Baden Westwood Road Brandywine, MD 20613

© 2002-SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make Gumshoe possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

Our Other Pubs:

Do You SFRevu? Thousands of Intelligent Beings Do Every Month

Gumshoe Review - a literary investigation.

© 2002-SFRevu