sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
Convention Listings- 03/2011  Next Month / Last Month
In order to get your convention listed in time for people to sign up for it, please send your listings to: editor (at) sfrevu.com

Potlatch 20: March 4-6, 2011 -- Sunnyvale, California by ( 04 March 2011 / ) - Potlatch, the convention, is an all-volunteer, non-profit, literary event for the readers and writers of speculative fiction. At Potlatch, people talk to each other and participate in panel discussions about reading and writing speculative fiction. You’ll find conversations at the program events, in Algonquins (spontaneous member-generated programming), in writers workshops, in the consuite, in the halls, and in elevators. Each year, Potlatch donates proceeds to literacy and literary organizations, including Clarion West—an intensive six-week workshop for writers who are preparing for professional careers in science fiction and fantasy.

Potlatch 20 will be held at the Domain Hotel in Sunnyvale, California during the weekend of March 4 - 6, 2011. Registration is now open (through Paypal or by mail). The general membership rate is currently $55, so register now! To get an idea what Potlatch discussions are like, check out these links to past Potlatch panels and Books of Honor.

FOGcon: March 11-13, 2011, at the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway Hotel by (FOGcon 11 March 2011 / ) - The Friends of Genre Convention (FOGcon) is a literary-themed San Francisco SF/F con in the tradition of Wiscon and Readercon. Each year we’ll focus on a new theme in speculative fiction and invite Honored Guests ranging from writers to scientists to artists. We will build community, exchange ideas, and share our love for the literature of imagination.

Honored Guests:

  • Pat Murphy
  • Jeff VanderMeer
  • Fritz Lieber
  • Ann VanderMeer

Tuson Festival of Books -- University of Arizona Campus · March 12 - 13, 2011 by ( 12 March 2011 / ) - More information about all of the events can be found on the Festival's website, tucsonfestivalofbooks.org. The comprehensive line-up of activities includes experts in every genre imaginable, from comedy to mystery, memoir and nonfiction to poetry. This year's festival will feature more than 450 authors and presenters.

IAFA: International Assoc. for the Fantastic in the Arts: March 16-20, Orlando, Florida by ( 16 March 2011 / ) - The IAFA is a scholarly organization devoted to the study of the fantastic (broadly defined) as it appears in literature, film, and the other arts. The purpose of the organization is to promote and recognize achievement in the study of the fantastic, mainly through the organization and management of an annual academic conference, the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts (ICFA). There are two publications connected to the IAFA: the Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts, which is a peer-reviewed journal for scholarship within the field of the fantastic, and the newsletter, which publishes information relevant to the IAFA membership.

Guest of Honor: Connie Willis
Guest of Honor: Terry Bisson
Guest Scholar: Andrea Hairston
Special Guest Emeritus: Brian Aldiss

March 16-20, 2011
Orlando Airport Marriott, Orlando, Florida

Lunacon - March 18-20 - Rye, New York by (Lunacon 18 March 2011 / ) - Author Guest of Honor: Hugo Award Nominee Lawrence M. Schoen
Artist Guest of Honor: Rachael Mayo
Special Guest: Eric "in the Elevator" Zuckerman

Come to Lunacon this coming March, and you’ll join thousands of Science Fiction/Fantasy readers, writers, and fans for discussions and debate about books and films, science and art, politics and religion, all in the context of the strange and the fantastic.

You’ll also find author readings, writing workshops, a Science Fiction/Fantasy Art Show & Auction, a costume masquerade (newcomers welcome!), a dealer’s room with genre-related merchandise, and of course, a variety of fannish social events during the evening hours.

We regret to announce that there will be no shuttle service between the hotel and the train station or airport this year due to the prohibitive cost. We will post contact information for local taxi companies closer to the convention.

Return to Index

With a few exceptions, conventions listings sent to us get listed.
With fewer exceptions, conventions listings not sent don't.
Send your listings to: Gayle Surrette / editor (at) sfrevu.com

© 2002-SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make Gumshoe possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

Our Other Pubs:

Do You SFRevu? Thousands of Intelligent Beings Do Every Month

Gumshoe Review - a literary investigation.

© 2002-SFRevu