sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
Hyddenworld: Spring: Spring Bk. 1 by William Horwood
Macmillan Hardcover  ISBN/ITEM#: 9780230712607
Date: 05 February 2010 List Price £16.99 Amazon US / Amazon UK /

A lead title from Macmillan - the first of four books in a brand new series by William Horwood, a name - in genre circles at least - very much from the 80s, and and author perhaps best known for his epic series about talking moles! Horwood's Duncton Wood novels were big sellers in their day and time will tell whether Horwood's readers and, indeed, the market have moved on since.

Horwood's return to the 'scene' is Hyddenworld - a series of four novels to be published annually, and each representing a season in an epic story arc. This first is a smart hardcover from Macmillan.

" The adventure of a lifetime is just beginning...

It has lain lost and forgotten for fifteen hundred years in the ancient heartland of England – a scrap of glass and metal melded by fierce fire. It is the lost core of a flawless Sphere made by the greatest of the Anglo-Saxon CraeftLords in memory of the one he loved. Her name was Spring and contained in the very heart of this work is a spark from the Fires of Creation.

But while humans have lost their belief in such things, the Hydden – little people existing on the borders of our world – have not. Breaking the silence of centuries they send one of their own, a young boy, Jack, to live among humans in the hope that he may one day find what has been lost for so long. His journey leads him to Katherine, a girl he rescues from a tragic accident – it’s a meeting that will change everything. It is only through their voyage into the dangerous Hyddenworld that they will realize their destiny, find love and complete the great quest that will save both their worlds from destruction.

Their journey begins with Spring ."

Return to Index

© 2002-2018SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2018SFRevu