sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
Johannes Cabal the Detective by Jonathan L. Howard
Headline Hardcover  ISBN/ITEM#: 9780755347957
Date: 08 July 2010 List Price 19.99 Amazon US / Amazon UK /

A second novel from Jonathan L. Howard, a British game designer whose credit include titles such as Broken Sword and his very well received debut novel Johannes Cabal the Necromancer, a witty fantasy that was given a beautiful hardcover release from Headline which "...combines the chills and thrills of old-fashioned gothic tales like The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, the mischievous humour of Wicked, and the sophisticated charms of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell and spins the Faustian legend into a fresh, irreverent, and irresistible new adventure.". Book two, Johannes Cabal the Detective is more of the same and hoorah for that!

"Johannes Cabal is back a little older, a little wiser, but just as sharply funny, cuttingly sarcastic, and unexpectedly violent as ever. For necromancer Johannes Cabal, dealing with devils, demons and raising the dead is pretty much par for the course. But when his attempt to steal a rare book turns sour, he is faced by a far more terrifying entity politics. While awaiting execution for his crime, Cabal is forced to resurrect an inconveniently deceased emperor. Seizing his chance, the cunning Cabal engineers his escape, fleeing the country on a state-of-the-art flying ship. But the ship has more than a few unpleasant surprises, including an unwelcome face from the past and the small matter of some mysterious murders. Cabal may work with corpses but he has absolutely no intention of becoming one. Drawn into a deadly conspiracy, is he shuffling dangerously close to the end of his mortal coil? "

From release/information:

Product Description: The second novel in this fantastic new series, a must for fans of Terry Pratchett and Tim Burton

(Source: Headline)

Return to Index


We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.
Name:
Email:
Comments

© 2002-2017SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2017SFRevu