sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
The Map of Time by Félix J. Palma
HarperCollins Paperback  ISBN/ITEM#: 9780007344123
Date: 09 June 2011 List Price £12.99 Amazon US / Amazon UK /

There's a rich tradition of books by European authors (or sometime by US authors, but set in Europe) which span the boundaries between what publishing regards as mainstream literature and genre. Recent examples include the work of Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Seldon Edward's The Little Book.

Felix Palma is an established prize-winning Spanish author whose novel The Map of Time is the latest to fit this criteria. A bestseller in europe, it has been translated into 20 languages and is only now appearing in English for the very first time - published in trade paperback by Harpercollins.

"An epic, ambitious and page-turning mystery that will appeal to fans of The Shadow of the Wind, Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell and The Time Traveller’s Wife.

London, 1896. Andrew Harrington is young, wealthy and heartbroken. His lover Marie Kelly was murdered by Jack the Ripper and he longs to turn back the clock and save her.

Meanwhile, Claire Haggerty rails against the position of women in Victorian society. Forever being matched with men her family consider suitable, she yearns for a time when she can be free to love whom she choses.

But hidden in the attic of popular author – and noted scientific speculator – H.G. Wells is a machine that will change everything. As their quests converge, it becomes clear that time is the problem – to escape it, to change it, might offer them the hope they need..."

Return to Index


© 2002-2017SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2017SFRevu