sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
Awakening (Hyddenworld Quartet 2) by William Horwood
Macmillan Hardcover  ISBN/ITEM#: 9780230712614
Date: 05 August 2011 List Price £17.99 Amazon US / Amazon UK /

The second of four books in a brand new series by William Horwood, a name - in genre circles at least - very much from the 80s, and and author perhaps best known for his epic series about talking moles! Horwood's Duncton Wood novels were big sellers in their day and time will tell whether Horwood's readers and, indeed, the market have moved on since.

Horwood's return to the 'scene' is Hyddenworld - a series of four novels to be published annually, and each representing a season in an epic story arc. Awakening is a smart hardcover from Macmillan.

"A series of extraordinary events mark the beginning of summer: earth tremors ravage the Hyddenworld; Jack and Katherine have a child, Judith; and a mysterious gem is found near Brum. That same night, after decades of sleep, the Emperor of the Hyddenworld awakens...

Jack, born of the Hyddenworld, knows that he has a foot in each world but doesn’t wholly belong to either.Is he human, or hydden? Judith too is a child of two worlds, with her human mother and hydden father. She knows who she is supposed to be – the Shield Maiden, bearer of the gems and helper of humankind – but somehow this destiny seems too much to accept.

The discovered gem puts Brum firmly in the path of the Empire – Jack must travel back to the Hyddenworld. He knows that the four gems need to be reunited soon and that the Shield Maiden must be ready to wield them.

If Judith does not embark on her own great journey soon, or the gems can’t be found, then both the hydden world and the human will be threatened with extinction."

Return to Index

© 2002-2018SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2018SFRevu