sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria by Carlos Hernandez
Cover Artist: Bizhan Khodabandeh
Review by Sam Tomaino
Rosarium Publishing Paperback  ISBN/ITEM#: 9781495607394
Date: 01 January 2016 List Price $15.95 Amazon US / Amazon UK

Links: Publisher's Authors Page / Publisher's Book Page / Show Article /

The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria is a great collection of stories by Carlos Hernandez.

From official release/information:

Product Description: A quirky collection of short SF stories for fans of Kij Johnson and Kelly Link.

Assimilation is founded on surrender and being broken; this collection of short stories features people who have assimilated, but are actively trying to reclaim their lives. There is a concert pianist who defies death by uploading his soul into his piano. There is the person who draws his mother's ghost out of the bullet hole in the wall near where she was executed. Another character has a horn growing out of the center of his forehead—punishment for an affair. But he is too weak to end it, too much in love to be moral. Another story recounts a panda breeder looking for tips. And then there's a border patrol agent trying to figure out how to process undocumented visitors from another galaxy. Poignant by way of funny, and philosophical by way of grotesque, Hernandez's stories are prayers for self-sovereignty.

Contents
Introduction by Jeffrey Ford

The Aphotic Ghost
Homeostasis
Entanglements
The International Studbook of the Giant Panda
The Macrobe Conservation Project
Los Simpáticos
More Than Pigs and Rosaries Can Give
Bone of My Bone
The Magical Properties of Unicorn Ivory
American Moat
Fantasie Impromptu No. 4 in C#min, Op. 66
The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria

(Source: Rosarium Publishing)

Return to Index


We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.
Name:
Email:
Comments

© 2002-2017SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2017SFRevu