sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
SCIFICTION (07/06 - 07/20/2005) by SciFi Channel
zine  ISBN/ITEM#: SCIFI07
Date: July 2005 /

From release/information:

SCIFICTION (07/06/05 - 07/20/05) Edited by Ellen Datlow
Stories reviewed: Heavy Lifting by Suzy McKee Charnas - 07/06/2005 / Calypso in Berlin by Elizabeth Hand - 07/13/2005 / Gauging Moonlight by E. Catherine Tobler - 07/20/2005

Since my last review, there have been only three new stories at www.scifi.com. I will review the 7/27/05 story next time. For this month, Ellen Datlow gives us three very good stories.

The first story is "Heavy Lifting" by Suzy McKee Charnas. She introduces us to a young man named Preston whose brother Richie died 7 years ago from drowning when Preston should have been at home. His father has left and his mother is delusional. Through the help of the ghost of a dead aunt, he finds redemption.

The next story, "Calypso in Paris" by Elizabeth Hand, is not about dancing. The Calypso of the story is the character from The Odyssey who spent some time with Odysseus. She is immortal and had been with many men since. She is also an artist and a weaver. Both of these play a part in a story of her feelings for her latest lover.

The third story is "Gauging Moonlight" by E. Catherine Tobler and is a lyrical piece told from the point of view of an alien who observes a woman's life from birth to death and develops feelings for his subject.

All these stories are worth reading. SCIFICTION remains one of the best Internet SFD sites.

(Source: )

Return to Index


We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.
Name:
Email:
Comments

© 2002-2017SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2017SFRevu