sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
Invincible (Star Wars: Legacy of the Force, Book 9) by Troy Denning
Cover Artist: Jason Felix
Review by Bill Lawhorn
Del Rey Hardcover  ISBN/ITEM#: 9780345477460
Date: 13 May 2008 List Price $27.00 Amazon US / Amazon UK / Show Official Info /

The twin bond shared by Jacen and Jaina Solo allowed them to survive many adventures as children. Each was a hero during the Yuzong Vong. The death of their younger brother Anakin took a toll on them. Now on the opposing sides of a civil war with multiple sides, only one can survive. Take a walk down memory lane as one of the greats goes into oblivion.

Jacen Solo is no more. The vision of Lumiya has come to fruition. The joking youth that was, is no more. Darth Caedus has now taken his place. The plans of Caedu must be stopped. The only one prepared enough to stop him is Jaina.

Jaina spent months training under the guidance of Boba Fett. Fett and the Mandalorians hone her into a deadly force that is a true sword of the Jedi. Of course, Boba has his own plans for the future of the galaxy. One that will see the end of the Jedi and the Sith. Of course others would prefer to see the last of Boba Fett.

This is the ninth and final book in the Legacy of the Force series. It is a tribute to what has come before. All non-flashback chapters start with a joke from Jacen's teen years. Anyone who has read prior Star Wars books, especially the Kevin J. Anderson Young Jedi Knights series will recognize the humor and maybe even remember the jokes. There are also flashback scenes from the adventures told in those books.

I read this book with a heavy heart. I missed the bad joking Jacen of old. The recanting of some of his worst jokes reminded me just how far his character had strayed in the years since the Yuzong Vong invasion. For fans of Star Wars, I don't need to say who lives or dies. You already know. It is Star Wars, so you know who must win. The how is what will keep you reading and hoping to see the redemption of those who strayed to the dark side. I picked up this book and read it cover to cover in one sitting.

Author Troy Denning "gets" the Star Wars universe and its characters. This makes him a great choice to conclude this series. He doesn't try to force characters that others have developed into what they aren't. The characters stay in character. Death comes to some, while others live. Good people die and bad ones live. That is the reality of war.

There is now the question of "what is next?" There is an announcement of the next book, Millennium Falcon due out in December 2008. The galaxy seems to be consolidating in the final chapters, but the Jedi's place in it is in question. Some people seem to work at ways to create fractures in this universe and there are still mysteries out there and Han Solo is determined to solve one of them. If you follow the Dark Horse comics you know at some point the galaxy comes to be dominated by an empire again. So what comes between? We'll just have to wait and see.

Return to Index


We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.
Name:
Email:
Comments

© 2002-2014SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2014SFRevu