sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
One Second After by William R. Forstchen
Review by Ernest Lilley
Forge Books Hardcover  ISBN/ITEM#: 9780765317582
Date: 17 March 2009 List Price $24.95 Amazon US / Amazon UK / Author's Entry / Show Article /

When a High Altitude Electo Magnetic Pulse attack destroys much of the world's technological infrastructure, rural Black Mountain, NC faces the grim realities of life after the high speed global economy. Like Alas Babylon and other post atomic war novels of the fifties and sixties, One Second After follows the story of a small group of resourceful folks suddenly cut off from the support of the global economy, faced with the realization that they had vastly more people on their hands than the land could sustain and hordes of urban refugees on their doorstep. The only kindness around is that anyone who needs modern drugs or medical support to stay alive won't burden them for long.

From official release/information:

Product Description: New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).  A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies. Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

(Source: Forge Books)

Return to Index


We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.
Name:
Email:
Comments

© 2002-2014SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2014SFRevu