sfrevu Logo with link to Main Page  
Special BAFTA Honour For Pythons by BBC News Article
Review by Charles Mohapel
Date: 19 August 2009

Links: BBC News Article / Show Official Info /

John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, and Michael Palin will attend the event on 15 October.

BAFTA chairman David Parfitt described the award as a "fitting tribute".

Cinema prize
"We're absolutely delighted to co-host this promises to be a rare and memorable occasion bringing the hugely talented Monty Python team together again," he said.

"We feel that the special award is a fitting tribute to this much-loved and singularly British institution," he added.

The Pythons will take part in a Q&A session before receiving the award at the end of the evening.

Monty Python's Flying Circus first aired on the BBC on 5 October 1969 and ran until 1974.

It was written and performed by Cleese, Gilliam, Idle, Jones, Palin, and the late Graham Chapman.

European premiere
The Academy last honoured the Monty Python team in 1987, when they were presented with the Michael Balcon Award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema.

"I believe these trinkets are more important than people think," said Cleese at the time.

Previous recipients of BAFTA's special awards include Dame Judi Dench, Lord Attenborough, Julie Walters, Andrey Hepburn, Billy Connolly, and Dame Maggie Smith.

Idle, Palin, Jones, and Gilliam will also be appearing in the European premiere of Idle's musical Not The Messiah (He's A Very Naughty Boy) at the Royal Albert Hall on 23 October.

Return to Index

We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.

© 2002-2018SFRevu

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make SFRevu possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2018SFRevu